Dinner Time, Main Attraction

Homemade “Shake N Bake” Tofu


While on my vacation, I developed a craving for fried okra. Sadly, fried okra is not at all good for you, but I decided to try my hand at making it over. I decided, that while I was at it, I’d remake an entire southern meal. Let me tell ya, it’s not too easy. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the results. I’m actually going to post it piece by piece because this meal contains all new recipes. I made homemade “Shake N Bake” tofu, mashed cauliflower and baked okra.

Yum, right?

So, here’s the recipe for my homemade shake n bake tofu. This recipe makes one 155 calorie serving.

Homemade “Shake N Bake” Tofu

1 serving of Extra Firm Tofu (I wish I could be more precise, but the nutrition label that I referenced said one serving was 1/5 of the block of tofu)

2 tablespoons whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon whole wheat bread crumbs

1/2 teaspoon seasoning salt

1. Slice the tofu into slices. The thickness is up to you, but I prefer mine a little on the thin side.

2. Preheat the oven to 350.

3. In a bowl, mix all the dry ingredients.

4. Coat the tofu with the flour bread crumb mixture on all sides.

5. Bake for 15 minutes on one side.

6. Flip. Bake on the other side for 10 minutes.

7. Enjoy!

Leave a comment