Dinner Time, Lifestyle, Lite Lunches, Main Attraction, Satisfying Snacks

Easy Three Bean Salad


My family started a tradition when I was younger of eating a large family dinner at my aunt’s house after church on Sundays. I can’t pinpoint the exact time but I know it predates me dating. Even though I’ve grown a lot going to Aunt Kelly’s is still one of my favorite things every week. Now that I’m over 21 the wine makes it even better. I believe in a balanced diet so my cheat meal is usually my Sunday dinner. (It isn’t really dinner but it’s what we call it.)  This next recipe is a healthier version of one of my favorite Aunt Kelly recipes. I hope you enjoy.

Easy Three Bean Salad

  • 15 ounces Wax Beans (canned because I can never find them fresh)
  • 15 ounces Blanched Green Beans (or canned but look for low sodium)
  • 8 ounces Cooked Kidney Beans
  • 8 ounces Cooked Chickpeas
  • 1 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 cup finely diced celery (approximately 100 grams)
  • 1/2 cup finely diced sweet onions (approximately 50 grams) I recommend Vidalia onions if you can find them
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup reduced fat feta
  • 3 packets Stevia (or to taste)
  • 2 tablespoons finely diced parsley
  • 1 tablespoon sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon pepper (or to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon Italian Seasoning

 

  1. In a medium sized bowl, mix together the red wine vinegar, olive oil, Stevia, salt, pepper and Italian seasoning. IMG_1184
  2. Stir until all ingredients are mixed well.
  3. Mix the wax beans, green beans, kidney beans, chickpeas, sweet onions, celery and parsley in a bowl. IMG_1182
  4.  Add the vinegar mixture to the bean mixture and allow to marinade for 6+ hours. IMG_1187
  5. Right before you serve the mixture add the feta. insert photo of feta 

This makes a great side dish or entree. To make this an entree I chop two cups of spinach or spring mix finely and mix in a serving of the three bean salad. To make it a little more “man approved” I usually try up a  slice of (turkey) bacon or two and add it to Ashton’s serving.

P.S. Yes, I know this has four “beans” but I’ve always called it three bean salad.

Insert Photo as Meal (spinach) 

Serving Size: 1 cup (makes six)

Nutrition Facts: 262 calories, 16 carbohydrates and 7 grams of protein

 

Leave a Reply

